Living In A State With A Young Minimum Driving Age?
When it comes to the legal age to obtain a driver's license, different states have different minimum age requirements. If you are currently living in a state, like South Dakota, where the age to get a provisional driver's license is 14 years and 3 months, you may find yourself worried about keeping your young teen safe when they get behind the wheel. Get to know some of the steps that you can take to keep your child safe on the road so that you can have greater peace of mind when they get their provisional driver's license.
Have Them Go To Driving School
One of the best ways that you can go about ensuring that your child stays safe when they get their provisional license at such a young age is to send them to driving school as soon as they are eligible to have a learner's permit. In South Dakota, that permit is known as an instruction permit and is available when your child turns 14.
At driving school, they will get both classroom instruction and in-vehicle driving experience with a certified driving instructor. This means that your child will learn all about the laws of the road as well as important safety skills and facts. Once they master the basics in the classroom, it is time to get behind the wheel for practice.
Your child will get the hours behind the wheel they need to successfully pass the driving exam required for their provisional license and you will know that all of the important safety information is relayed to them. Additionally, in some states, a driver's education course like Morgan School Of Driving Inc is required to get a provisional license as early as possible. For example, in South Dakota a provisional license can be obtained at 14 years, 3 months if a child takes driver's education and 14 years, 6 months if they do not.
Set Strict Rules And Do Not Allow Them To Rush Into It
You know your child better than anyone else does. If you personally feel that they are not ready to get an instruction permit or provisional license even if they meet the minimum age requirements, then make them wait. Allowing your child to rush into the responsibility of driving when they are not ready to do so could have disastrous consequences for them and for others on the road.
Take your time and do not let your child persuade you to allow them to get their license until they are mature enough to do so. Even then, it is a good idea to set your own rules and restrictions beyond those set by the state. If you only feel comfortable with your child driving to and from school, then that is all you should allow.
Make sure they always ask to use the car (even if it is specifically their car) and tell you where they are going. You can always install a tracker app on their phone or use the vehicles on-board GPS to ensure they are telling you the truth and following the rules. The more control you have over their driving habits, the better you will feel and the safer they will be.